Connect with us


Ontario U17s Win 2013 Canada Games Gold



canada-games-medalOn August 17, 2013, Team Ontario defended their title as U17 Canadian National Champions with a 61-41 win over Team British Columbia.

Ten point performances by Shay Colley, Christina Buttenham and Cheyenne Creighton led Ontario’s offensive output, and defended the National title they have won consecutively since 2011.

After launching out to a 15-2 lead by the midway point of the First, Ontario kept their foot on the gas against British Columbia further extending their lead to 31-10 midway through the Second. This lead was maintained throughout the rest of the game, challenged in part by the 9 points put up by Nicole Vander Helm, who led BC in scoring.

Ball control was a big factor in the game in both the rebound and turnover categories. Nancy Kessler and Bridget Carleton led Ontario in Rebounds with 7 apiece as a part of their overall 43 , while Lauren Yearwood answered with 9 of her own as her team was only able to collect 31.
Ontario took care of the ball for the most part of the game only committing a meager 9 Turnovers, while forcing their Pacific counterparts to commit 21 of their own.

Ontario, was the only team to go undefeated throughout the tournament, amassing victories over New Brunswick 76-31, Newfoundland 56-27, Nova Scotia 86-33 and Manitoba 61-28 before this, their Gold Medal win.

This year’s U17 National Champions was an overlay of the Canada Games, the nation’s largest multi-sport event that took place in Sherbrooke, Quebec.

In the Bronze Medal match, Team Manitoba defeated Team Alberta by a score of 62-54.

Manitoba was led in scoring by Kyanna Giles who scored 27 points on 12-20 shooting from the field, while collecting 11 rebounds. She also has 7 steals in the game in her 40 minutes of work. Manitoba was also helped out by Sara Ibrahim’s 10 in the game that helped them secure the third place finish.

Sydney Kumar led Alberta with 17 points, and Kacie Bosch scored 10.

The Final National Standings:
1) Ontario
2) British Columbia
3) Manitoba
4) Alberta
5) Nova Scotia
6) Saskatchewan
7) New Brunswick
8) Quebec
9) Newfoundland
10) Prince Edward Island