Connect with us


2012 17U Canadian Girls National Championships



August 11, 2012 saw the crowning of the 2012 Canadian 17U National Champions, Team Ontario.

Team Ontario claimed the Gold Medal after defeating Nova Scotia in the Finals by a score of 66-48.  The Finals result was in contrast to a close seven point game that Ontario eeked out when the two teams played earlier on in the tournament.

The Finals was filled with many of the tournament’s individual award winners including National tournament MVP, and Niagara commit, Victoria Rampado. Other individual award winners in this Gold Medal game included First Team All-stars Hilary Hanaka (Ontario), Alison Keough (Nova Scotia) and Candace Smith (Nova Scotia) along with Second Team All-Stars Mikalah Mulrain (Ontario) and Daneesha Provo (Nova Scotia).

Finishing just below Team Nova Scotia’s Silver Medal performance was British Columbia. BC claimed the Bronze Medal after defeating Quebec 69-38 in the Third Place matchup.

The now back-to-back U17 National Champions representing the province of Ontario, defeated British Columbia to claim Gold in the 2011 Finals, after losing to them and in the Finals of 2010.

This year, many of the Provincial team rosters were compromised by the selections of the Canadian National U17 Cadette team, who are in Amsterdam, Netherlands, preparing to play in the FIBA World U17 Championships beginning August 15. The timing of the World tournament has set the stage in these Canadian Nationals as a prime opportunity for those not selected to represent their country to step up and shine.

The Canadian 17U National Championships is comprised of Provincial teams made up of the best players they are able to assemble. Players are acquired from locations throughout their respective provinces.

Gold Medal: Ontario 66 – Nova Scotia 48
Ontario: Hilary Hanaka (17 points, 8 assists); Victoria Rampado (12 points, 9 rebounds); Mikalah Mulrain (11 points, 11 rebounds)
Nova Scotia: Candace Smith (21 points), and Alexandra Berry (12 points, 8 rebounds).

Bronze Medal: British Columbia 69 – Quebec 38
British Columbia: Maya Olynyk (15 points, 10 rebounds); Kiana Lalonde (11 points) and Michelle Bos (10 points).
Quebec was led by Frédéricke Laflamme (9 points).

Semi-Final 1: Ontario 72 – Quebec 58
Ontario: Hilary Hanaka (13 points); Megan Smith (11 points); Cassidy Crowe (10 points)
For Quebec, it was Sarah St-Fort (12 points), Elaine Potvin (10 points).

Semi-Final 2: Nova Scotia 65 – British Columbia 52
Nova Scotia: Daneesha Provo (18 points); Candace Smith (15 points), Jane McLaughlin 13 points, 8 rebounds).
British Columbia: Kayla Gordon (13 points, 6 rebounds); Abigail Dixon (12 points); Lauren Yearwood (11 points).

2012 Final Standings
1st – Ontario
2nd – Nova Scotia
3rd – British Columbia
4th – Quebec
5th – Saskatchewan
6th – New Brunswick
7th – Alberta
8th – Manitoba
9th – Newfoundland
10th – Prince Edward Island

2012 17U Award Winners
Tournament MVP: Victoria Rampado – Ontario

1st Team All-Stars:
Hilary Hanaka – Ontario
Alison Keough – Nova Scotia
Charlotte Kot – Saskatchewan
Candace Smith – Nova Scotia
Lauren Yearwood – British Columbia

2nd Team All-Stars:
Abigail Dixon – British Columbia
Kayla Gordon – British Columbia
Mikalah Mulrain – Ontario
Daneesha Provo – Nova Scotia
Grace Wade – New Brunswick


Click here for details of the 15U Canadian National Championships