Connect with us


2016 Canadian National U17s Roster Announced



On June 9, 2016, Canada Basketball announced their U17 National team roster.

The team was selected from their top-18 tryouts that took took place at the University of Toronto-Mississauga Campus, from June 6-9, 2016.

The selected players, will be looked upon to maintain the results that were attained last summer, when as a U16 group, they won their first ever FIFA Americas Gold Medal.

The team remains in training camp as they continue their preparations, until June 14, when they will head over to Spain in order to play in a 3 game exhibition warm-up.

The Canadians will get their FIBA World Championships underway on June 22, beginning the event with a matchup against Nigeria. They will also face Latvia and Japan as well in the round robin portion of the event. The event ends with the Championship game on July 3.

The following is the selected roster:

Laeticia Amihere
Niyah Becker
Hailey Brown
Sarah Donovan
Louise Forsyth
Hanna Hall
Taya Hanson
Alyssa Jerome
Roxane Makolo
Shaina Pellington
Aiden Rainford
Kyla Shand

Also considered from the short list of players invited to the final round of tryouts include the following players:

Rachel Guinto
Macaela Crone
Christina Morra
Sage Stobbart
Keishana Washington